General Functions of Renal System Contd/...



The kidney can be divided into three distinct parts


The renal pelvis - a large urine collecting space formed by the expanded end of the ureter. The pelvis branches into the major calyces and these in turn into the minor calyces.


The renal medulla - the middle portion of the kidney. Made up of 8 to 18 renal pyramids - cone shaped structures with the apexes towards the calyces. These pyramids are made up of the proximal tubules, loop of Henle, distal tubules and collecting ducts.


The renal cortex - the outer portion of the kidney. Extends from the capsule to the medulla. Consists mainly of glomeruli.